The finalists of this year’s Road Safety Quiz

Pupils from Hogarth School taking part in the road safety quiz

The finalists have been announced for this year’s Road Safety Quiz. Delivered annually from January to March the road safety quiz culminates in an annual final in May where the top 10 scoring schools compete for the coveted RSQ trophy!

The programme is offered to all the primary schools in the city and designed for Key Stage 2 pupils (7-11 year olds). This year 12,962 children took part, in 72 schools, representing 94 per cent of schools within Nottingham. Pupils develop knowledge of road signs, public transport, cycling, safely crossing the road, and travelling in cars.

Miss Doxey from Hogarth Academy said: “All of the children look forward to the Road Safety Quiz. For all ages there are new things to learn as well as reminding them what they should do to stay safe on the road.”

Ruby, aged 11, said: “I learned that within a speed limit traffic could be travelling at any speed – including over the speed limit. This means I have to be more careful when crossing the road.”

Andrea Wood, from Nottingham City Council’s Road Safety Team, said: “The road safety quiz is an important way of developing children’s knowledge of the world around them, with the aim that education will continue to reduce child road safety accidents. In the longer term, these children will become the next generations of safe drivers, cyclists and public transport users.”

This year’s theme was ‘transport through the ages’, where the children learned about the evolution of transport from horse drawn trolley buses to electric cars!

Andrea continued: “The built environment is always changing, so the quiz needs to change to. It’s important to teach children about potential hazards in the modern world and understand how the rules of the road have evolved over time. This year’s pupils have taken part with gusto, and they should all be pleased with how much they’ve learned. The schools with the ten highest scores will take part in the quiz final on 9 May, and we wish them all the best of luck.”

The schools competing in this year’s grand final are…

  • Snape Wood
  • Our Lady & St Edwards
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour
  • St Mary’s
  • Middleton Primary
  • Edna G Olds
  • St Margaret Clitherow
  • Hogarth
  • Sneinton St Stephen’s
  • Fernwood

Find the winners here…